Status quo: Drinking age stays at 18

first_imgDom Post 31 Aug 2012Parliament has again brushed off a bid to return the drinking age to 20 after a rare three-way vote.The alcohol purchase age remains at 18 after a colourful debate last night that ended in 68 votes for the status quo and 53 backing a return to 20.An “election” for the final vote had earlier narrowly eliminated the proposed “split age” option of 18 at on-licence venues and 20 at off-licences.That attracted 33 votes in the first poll – including that of Prime Minister John Key – short of the 38 votes for 20 years and 50 for 18 years.The victory for MPs and lobbyists who pushed to “Keep it 18” means the existing 18 years purchase age replaces the proposed split age in the Alcohol Reform Bill, which will be passed into law later this year.The result was a disappointment to many in the health sector, and to many MPs – some of whom had also voted unsuccessfully to lift the age in 2006 after it was first dropped to 18 in 1999.“The people who are making money out of the heavy-drinking culture will be celebrating,” Alcohol Action NZ spokesman Doug Sellman said.“The people who pick up the mess and treat alcohol problems will be profoundly disappointed.”Most MPs had voted in the first round to lift the age, he said.Justice Minister Judith Collins, who voted initially for the split age and then for a return to 20, said the result “denied one effective way of curbing problem drinking”.However, other measures in the bill yet to be finally passed would have an effect, she said.HOW THEY VOTEDThe option to adopt a split alcohol purchase age of 18 in bars and 20 at off-licences venues like bottle stores and supermarkets was defeated with only 33 backing the split option.On the first ballot 50 backed keeping the age at 18 and 38 opted to increase it to 20.In the final run-off between 18 and 20 the 121 MPs voted to keep the age at 18 by 68 votes to 53For keeping the alcohol purchase age at 18Jacinda Ardern (L)Shane Ardern (N)John Banks (A)Maggie Barry (N)David Bennett (N)Paula Bennett (N)Steffan Browning (G)Gerry Brownlee (N)David Carter (N)Charles Chauvel (L)David Clendon (G)David Cunliffe (L)Clare Curran (L)Lianne Dalziel (L)Jacqui Dean (N)Catherine Delahunty (G)Peter Dunne (UF)Ruth Dyson (L)Bill English (N)Kris Faafoi (L)Darien Fenton (L)Christopher Finlayson (N)Julie Anne Genter (G)Paul Goldsmith (N)Tim Groser (N)Nathan Guy (N)Kevin Hague (G)Tau Henare (N)Chris Hipkins (L)Parekura Horomia (L)Gareth Hughes (G)Raymond Huo (L)Paul Hutchison (N)Shane Jones (L)Steven Joyce (N)Nikki Kaye (N)John Key (N)Colin King (N)Melissa Lee (N)Iain Lees-Galloway (L)Jan Logie (G)Moana Mackey (L)Trevor Mallard (L)Mojo Mathers (G)Murray McCully (N)Ian McKelvie (N)Russel Norman (G)Simon O’Connor (N)David Parker (L)Rajen Prasad (L)Grant Robertson (L)Denise Roche (G)Jami-Lee Ross (N)Eugenie Sage (G)David Shearer (L)Lockwood Smith (N)Nick Smith (N)Rino Tirikatene (L)Lindsay Tisch (N)Metiria Turei (G)Tariana Turia (MP)Phil Twyford (L)Nicky Wagner (N)Holly Walker (G)Kate Wilkinson (N)Maurice Williamson (N)Michael Woodhouse (N)Megan Woods (L)For lifting the purchase age to 20.Amy Adams (N)Chris Auchinvole (N)Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi (N)Jackie Blue (N)Chester Borrows (N)Simon Bridges (N)Cam Calder (N)David Clark (L)Jonathan Coleman (N)Judith Collins (N)Clayton Cosgrove (L)Te Ururoa Flavell (MP)Craig Foss (N)Phil Goff (L)Jo Goodhew (N)Kennedy Graham (G)Hone Harawira (M)John Hayes (N)Phil Heatley (N)Brendan Horan (NZF)Annette King (L)Andrew Little (L)Asenati Lole-Taylor (NZF)Sam Lotu-Iiga (N)Tim Macindoe (N)Nanaia Mahuta (L)Tracey Martin (NZF)Todd McClay (N)Mark Mitchell (N)Sue Moroney (L)Alfred Ngaro (N)Damien O’Connor (L)Denis O’Rourke (NZF)Hekia Parata (N)Winston Peters (NZF)Richard Prosser (NZF)Ross Robertson (L)Eric Roy (N)Tony Ryall (N)Mike Sabin  (N)Katrina Shanks (N)Pita Sharples (MP)Scott Simpson (N)Su’a William Sio (L)Barbara Stewart (NZF)Maryan Street (L)Anne Tolley (N)Chris Tremain (N)Louise Upston (N)Louisa Wall (L)Andrew Williams (NZF)Jian Yang (N)Jonathan Young (N

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *