Status quo: Drinking age stays at 18

first_imgDom Post 31 Aug 2012Parliament has again brushed off a bid to return the drinking age to 20 after a rare three-way vote.The alcohol purchase age remains at 18 after a colourful debate last night that ended in 68 votes for the status quo and 53 backing a return to 20.An “election” for the final vote had earlier narrowly eliminated the proposed “split age” option of 18 at on-licence venues and 20 at off-licences.That attracted 33 votes in the first poll – including that of Prime Minister John Key – short of the 38 votes for 20 years and 50 for 18 years.The victory for MPs and lobbyists who pushed to “Keep it 18” means the existing 18 years purchase age replaces the proposed split age in the Alcohol Reform Bill, which will be passed into law later this year.The result was a disappointment to many in the health sector, and to many MPs – some of whom had also voted unsuccessfully to lift the age in 2006 after it was first dropped to 18 in 1999.“The people who are making money out of the heavy-drinking culture will be celebrating,” Alcohol Action NZ spokesman Doug Sellman said.“The people who pick up the mess and treat alcohol problems will be profoundly disappointed.”Most MPs had voted in the first round to lift the age, he said.Justice Minister Judith Collins, who voted initially for the split age and then for a return to 20, said the result “denied one effective way of curbing problem drinking”.However, other measures in the bill yet to be finally passed would have an effect, she said.HOW THEY VOTEDThe option to adopt a split alcohol purchase age of 18 in bars and 20 at off-licences venues like bottle stores and supermarkets was defeated with only 33 backing the split option.On the first ballot 50 backed keeping the age at 18 and 38 opted to increase it to 20.In the final run-off between 18 and 20 the 121 MPs voted to keep the age at 18 by 68 votes to 53For keeping the alcohol purchase age at 18Jacinda Ardern (L)Shane Ardern (N)John Banks (A)Maggie Barry (N)David Bennett (N)Paula Bennett (N)Steffan Browning (G)Gerry Brownlee (N)David Carter (N)Charles Chauvel (L)David Clendon (G)David Cunliffe (L)Clare Curran (L)Lianne Dalziel (L)Jacqui Dean (N)Catherine Delahunty (G)Peter Dunne (UF)Ruth Dyson (L)Bill English (N)Kris Faafoi (L)Darien Fenton (L)Christopher Finlayson (N)Julie Anne Genter (G)Paul Goldsmith (N)Tim Groser (N)Nathan Guy (N)Kevin Hague (G)Tau Henare (N)Chris Hipkins (L)Parekura Horomia (L)Gareth Hughes (G)Raymond Huo (L)Paul Hutchison (N)Shane Jones (L)Steven Joyce (N)Nikki Kaye (N)John Key (N)Colin King (N)Melissa Lee (N)Iain Lees-Galloway (L)Jan Logie (G)Moana Mackey (L)Trevor Mallard (L)Mojo Mathers (G)Murray McCully (N)Ian McKelvie (N)Russel Norman (G)Simon O’Connor (N)David Parker (L)Rajen Prasad (L)Grant Robertson (L)Denise Roche (G)Jami-Lee Ross (N)Eugenie Sage (G)David Shearer (L)Lockwood Smith (N)Nick Smith (N)Rino Tirikatene (L)Lindsay Tisch (N)Metiria Turei (G)Tariana Turia (MP)Phil Twyford (L)Nicky Wagner (N)Holly Walker (G)Kate Wilkinson (N)Maurice Williamson (N)Michael Woodhouse (N)Megan Woods (L)For lifting the purchase age to 20.Amy Adams (N)Chris Auchinvole (N)Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi (N)Jackie Blue (N)Chester Borrows (N)Simon Bridges (N)Cam Calder (N)David Clark (L)Jonathan Coleman (N)Judith Collins (N)Clayton Cosgrove (L)Te Ururoa Flavell (MP)Craig Foss (N)Phil Goff (L)Jo Goodhew (N)Kennedy Graham (G)Hone Harawira (M)John Hayes (N)Phil Heatley (N)Brendan Horan (NZF)Annette King (L)Andrew Little (L)Asenati Lole-Taylor (NZF)Sam Lotu-Iiga (N)Tim Macindoe (N)Nanaia Mahuta (L)Tracey Martin (NZF)Todd McClay (N)Mark Mitchell (N)Sue Moroney (L)Alfred Ngaro (N)Damien O’Connor (L)Denis O’Rourke (NZF)Hekia Parata (N)Winston Peters (NZF)Richard Prosser (NZF)Ross Robertson (L)Eric Roy (N)Tony Ryall (N)Mike Sabin  (N)Katrina Shanks (N)Pita Sharples (MP)Scott Simpson (N)Su’a William Sio (L)Barbara Stewart (NZF)Maryan Street (L)Anne Tolley (N)Chris Tremain (N)Louise Upston (N)Louisa Wall (L)Andrew Williams (NZF)Jian Yang (N)Jonathan Young (N read more

Europe Wants 16 Slots in Expanded 48-team World Cup

first_imgFIFA is expected to confirm the quotas for each continental governing body in May.Ceferin was speaking at a meeting of the UEFA Executive Committee in Nyon. All members of the committee agreed with the proposals.Other proposals approved at Thursday’s meeting included:Limiting UEFA’s president and executive committee members to a maximum of three four-year terms.Granting membership of the committee to two European Club Association representatives.Ensuring UEFA competitions are selected through a transparent bidding process.FIFA’s members voted unanimously in favour of the World Cup expansion in January.The number of tournament matches will rise to 80, from 64, but the eventual winners will still play only seven games.The tournament will be completed within 32 days – a measure to appease powerful European clubs, who objected to reform because of a crowded international schedule.FIFA President Gianni Infantino said the World Cup has to be “more inclusive”, adding: “Football is more than just Europe and South America, football is global.”Speaking to the BBC at the time of the announcement, he said the decision on who would get the extra qualification slots would be “looked at speedily”.He added: “The only sure thing is that everyone will have a bit more representation than they have.”Speaking on Thursday, Ceferin said: “We can push and be outvoted, but we think it is realistic to ask for 16 slots at least, plus another condition that each European team is in different groups.“Then if it is true that we are so good, that quality is on our side, I think all 16 can qualify.”Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegram European football’s governing body, UEFA, will ask for its teams to be given 16 places at the expanded 48-team 2026 World Cup.UEFA will also request that the European teams who do qualify are kept apart in the first stage.The new-look tournament will begin with an initial round of 16 three-team groups, with 32 qualifiers going through to the knockout stage.Thirteen European teams qualified for the last World Cup in Brazil in 2014, which was won by Germany.UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin said the requests are “realistic”, and it is his desire for every European team to qualify from the first round.last_img read more